This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

2020 grads earn slate of scholarships

The 119 members of the Class of 2020 have graduated, and most are looking ahead to starting their post-secondary journey in September.

After receiving a combined total of 601 university offers – an average of 5 per student – all have made their final decisions. Seventy-five grads will attend university in Ontario. Another 14 will attend out-of-province universities. An additional 18 are going to the U.S., four to international schools, and eight will take a gap year.

Altogether, 90 per cent of the students graduated as Ontario Scholars.

We would like to highlight some of the students who received scholarships. The following list contains both academic and athletic scholarships, in alphabetical order:

Jack Bar
NCAA D1 Hockey, Harvard University, Economics
The Harvard men's ice hockey program announced Jack as one of the nine-member incoming first-year Class of 2024. The Crimson welcomes five forwards, two defensemen, and two goaltenders. The group hails from two countries (U.S. and Canada) and represents five states and one province. Jack was named St. Andrew's College Defenseman of the Year in 2020, setting a school record for points by a defenseman in a single season (18 goals, 34 assists). He was invited to Hockey Canada U17 camp in 2018 and helped St. Andrew's capture the CISAA and National Independent School Invitational Hockey Championship in 2019 and 2020.

Mike Chen
Presidential Scholarship, University of Southern California, Business Administration + Human Biology/Pre-Med
The Presidential Scholarship is open to incoming freshman students and is a half-tuition scholarship awarded to approximately 200 students each year. It is awarded based on academic excellence, leadership, service, and talent.

Matthew Deo
Morehead-Cain Scholarship, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Economics and International Business
Selection criteria for the Morehead-Cain are leadership, moral force of character, academic achievement, and physical vigor. Morehead-Cain recipients are chosen solely on the basis of merit and accomplishment. The scholarship covers all expenses for four years of undergraduate study at UNC–Chapel Hill. It also features a distinctive program of summer enrichment experiences designed to stretch students beyond their comfort zones. Scholars learn and grow throughout their four summers. They have opportunities to complete an outdoor leadership course, work in teams on problems facing cities throughout North America, work with organizations around the globe, and gain professional experience that helps launch their careers. Matthew is one of 70 selected for the Class of 2024, and one of three from Canada.

Brendan Dilworth
Football, Queen's University, Commerce
Brendan committed to the Gaels late last year. He was the Varsity Saints’ captain in 2019, a member of Team Ontario, and a three-time CISAA finalist.

Sanjay Gupta
President's Scholarship, University of Waterloo, Computer Science
This scholarship recognizes outstanding academic achievement and is awarded to students whose admission average is between 90 and 94.9 per cent.

Mark Hillier
NCAA D1 Hockey, Merrimack College, Sports Management
Mark was announced as one of seven incoming hockey team members of the Class of 2024 at Merrimack. The forward that is set to become a Warrior straight from prep hockey after he put up prolific numbers the past few seasons at St. Andrew’s. He played the past three seasons for the Saints and wore the captain’s ‘C’ during his final campaign in 2019-20.

Marco Li
President's Scholarship, University of Waterloo, Mechanical Engineering
This scholarship recognizes outstanding academic achievement and is awarded to students whose admission average is between 90 and 94.9 per cent.

Bryce Neil
Chancellor's Scholarship and W.W. King Scholarship, Queen's University, Engineering
In celebration of its 150th anniversary (1841-1991), Queen's University offers 50 Chancellor's Scholarships to students chosen on the basis of nomination by high school principals and submission of a detailed application form. The W.W. King Scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic excellence to students entering first year of the first entry Applied Science undergraduate degree program.

Devlin O'Brien
NCAA D1 Hockey, Merrimack College, Business
Devlin is a Merrimack recruit who has committed to play for the Penticton Vees in the BCHL for the 2020-21 season. He took a leadership role with the Saints this season, wearing an ‘A’ on his sweater as one of the team’s assistant captains. Devlin is set to attend Merrimack in the fall of 2021.

Chris Yi
Leadership Scholarship, University of Southern California, Business Administration + Pre Law
This scholarship is awarded to 20 first-year students. Applicants take the most demanding curriculum and achieve at the highest level. Competitive candidates will be at the top of the applicant pool with respect to GPA and SAT or ACT. Strong emphasis is placed on leadership in school and community service.

Other scholarship winners are:

• Frankie Carogioiello
NCAA D1 Hockey, Miami University, Sports Management
• Liam Cavan
NCAA D1 Hockey, Merrimack College, Business
• Kienan Draper
Hockey, Miami University
• Nate Falconi
Football, Queen's University, Film Studies
• Cole Galata
NCAA D1 Hockey, Bentley University, Business Management
• Christopher Marton
Soccer, McGill University, Economics
• D’Arcy Tawaststjerna
Football, Dalhousie University, Commerce
St. Andrew's College
15800 Yonge Street, Aurora, ON L4G 3H7 Canada
Tel: 905-727-3178