Introducing St. Andrew’s Prefects for 2019-2020

It was a standing-room-only crowd in Ketchum Auditorium during a full-school assembly this week as the new slate of Prefects was announced.

Headmaster Kevin McHenry led the assembly by first thanking the current Prefects and commending them for their leadership, spirit, and support. “I thank everyone in our fabulous graduating class, led by an exceptional Prefect group, for setting an overwhelmingly positive tone for the year at St. Andrew’s.”

Mr. McHenry read aloud the names of the 2018-2019 Prefects: Jalen Gu, Ryan Sutherland-Pace, Alexander Smith, Alastair Binnendyk, Andrew Boland, Graham Cassar, Osher Lee, Noah Hulton, Campbell Clarke (deputy head prefect), and Willem Grier (head prefect).

He then congratulated the 35 boys who put their names forward to be considered as Prefect, one of the most challenging forms of leadership at the School. After Upper School students, staff, and faculty cast their ballots, 12 boys were chosen.

With the current Prefects on stage, one by one the newly elected Prefects were called forward by Mr. McHenry. They were each handed their Prefect Tie and badge by one of the outgoing Prefects and the new panel stood shoulder to shoulder on stage as the rest of the School applauded.

The headmaster also read portions of the boys’ applications letters that detailed their amazing achievements.

SAC’s 2019-2020 Prefects:

Bryce Neil
, head prefect: AP Capstone; three-term varsity athlete playing soccer, basketball, and golf; president of the Social Justice Council, Middle School House Captain, member of the Wind Ensemble, Robotics Club, SLG, and Library Leadership team; 266 community service hours.

Davide Zadra
, deputy head prefect: McEwen Leadership; head of Andrean Life Council and a Middle School House Captain; member of SLG, Library Leadership team, Pipes & Drums, DECA, and Debating Society; Duke of Edinburgh Gold participant; Varsity Football, Varsity Baseball, and Varsity B Hockey; 232 community service hours.

Blake Phillips
: McEwen Leadership; House Captain in Macdonald House and member of the Chapel Advisory Council, St. Andrew’s Dramatic Society, Model UN, Marksmanship team, and Investment Club; Varsity Football, Varsity Rugby, and Nordic skiing; completed the Master Cadet course and became platoon commander for Flavell House.

Andrew O’Hare
: McEwen Leadership; three-term varsity athlete in volleyball, swimming, and triathlon; member of Andrean Life Council; Middle School House Captain, lieutenant and platoon commander in the Cadet Corps; participated in CAIS Leadership Conference; 355 community service hours.

Michael Hanrahan
: McEwen Leadership and AP Capstone; Headmaster’s Honour Roll every term since 2016; three-term varsity athlete in volleyball, swimming, and badminton; DECA co-executive, incoming head of Model UN, head of Writing and Publication Council, section leader in the Wind Ensemble, House Captain in Macdonald House; participated in CAIS National Leadership Conference.

Matthew Deo
: Extended French and AP Capstone; Duke of Edinburgh Silver (working on Gold); Middle School House Captain, co-president of Community Service Council; Varsity Swim; Jazz Band, Wind Ensemble, and organizer of JazzCan Collective; 358 community service hours.

Nolan Michelberger
: McEwen Leadership; Headmaster’s Honour Roll for 20 consecutive terms; Middle School house captain, Andrean Life Council, and Pipes & Drums; manager of Varsity Hockey and plays Varsity Lacrosse.

Henry Li
: McEwen Leadership; Admission School Ambassador; Middle School House Captain, founder and president of the SAC Real Estate Cub, member of Investment Club, Outreach Council, and DECA.

Andrew Kraik
: Extended French, McEwen Leadership, and AP Capstone; Middle School House Captain; member of Andrean Life Council, Entrepreneurship Club, Real Estate Club; completed Master Cadet qualifications; Varsity B Hockey and Varsity Golf.

Ethan Landry: Extended French; House Captain in Macdonald House, Admission School Ambassador, and member of Social Justice Council; three-term varsity athlete: soccer, hockey, and baseball and was awarded the Ann Perrier Memorial Award as the unsung hero of First Hockey.

Christopher Marton
: Extended French; Wind Ensemble, Jazz Band, and vocalist in An Andrean Christmas; Middle School House Captain, member of Model UN and; reigning MVP of Varsity Soccer, Junior Varsity Basketball, Varsity Track and Field; 109 community service hours.

Dorian Jones: AP Capstone; Middle School House Captain; Wind Ensemble and Jazz Band; head of Community Service Council; Varsity Swim and Varsity Triathlon; 225 community service hours.

For more photos, please click here.
St. Andrew's College
15800 Yonge Street, Aurora, ON L4G 3H7 Canada
Tel: 905-727-3178