This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Introducing St. Andrew’s Prefects for 2020-21

Today, the new slate of Prefects was announced to a virtual crowd of students, faculty, and staff members.

In previous years, the new student leaders would have been called to the stage in Ketchum Auditorium to be handed their Prefect Tie and badge from the outgoing Prefects. They would stand together, shoulder to shoulder, as the rest of the School applauded.

This year things were different. The COVID-19 pandemic has all students, faculty, and staff at home in isolation, but Head of School, Kevin McHenry, hosted a virtual assembly on May 14 to announce the new school leaders.

“I truly wish that we were all here together as an in-person community to celebrate the announcement of the 2020-21 Prefects,” he said. “It’s always a highlight of the school year to witness the high fives and the hugs that follow as the student body erupts after each new Prefect is named.”

Mr. McHenry commended students, faculty and staff on their resilience over the past two months as we have all adapted to the isolation and distance learning environment during the pandemic.
He praised the outgoing Prefects for setting an overwhelmingly positive tone for the year, both pre- and post-pandemic.

He read the names of the 2019-20 Prefects, accompanied by slides of each student immersed in their SAC activities: Bryce Neil (Head Prefect), Davide Zadra (Deputy Head Prefect), Matthew Deo, Michael Hanrahan, Dorian Jones, Andrew Kraik, Ethan Landry, Henry Li, Christopher Marton, Nolan Michelberger, Andrew O’Hare, and Blake Phillips.

He then congratulated the 40 boys who put their names forward to be considered as Prefect, one of the most challenging forms of leadership at the School. “Congratulations for taking a risk to show how much you believe in both yourself and your school,” Mr. McHenry said, encouraging them to continue seeking leadership opportunities in the coming year.

After Upper School students, staff, and faculty cast their ballots, 12 boys were chosen, seven boarders and five day boys. Mr. McHenry announced each new Prefect, in random order, and read portions of their application letters.

Here are SAC’s 2020-21 Prefects:
Ty White
Eddie Jia
Braeden Donnelly
David Kurp
Jack Rankel
Gordie McDonell
Nolan Rush
Benjamin Goring
Caden McHenry
Lochlan McTeague
Paul Petrozza (Deputy Head Prefect)
Alex Ventin (Head Prefect)

“This is a very impressive collection of young men who will undoubtedly lead the 2020-21 school year with vision, perseverance, energy and kindness,” Mr. McHenry said in wrapping up the assembly.

Visit our SAC YouTube channel to watch the entire announcement and learn details about the accomplishments of each new Prefect.
St. Andrew's College
15800 Yonge Street, Aurora, ON L4G 3H7 Canada
Tel: 905-727-3178